Tonantzintla Pue México 6-8 september 2017

Plenary speakers


Less is More: Extreme Optics with Zero Refractive Index

Eric Mazur

Harvard University, USA
2017 OSA President

Eric Mazur is the Balkanski Professor of Physics and Applied Physics at Harvard University. He is Fellow of the OSA and the APS, and present OSA President.

Prof. Mazur has made important contributions to spectroscopy, light scattering, the interaction of ultrashort laser pulses with materials, and nanophotonics.

He is author or co-author of nearly 300 papers, 36 patents, and several books, including the Principles and Practice of Physics, a book that presents a groundbreaking new approach to teaching introductory calculus-based physics.


Infrared Antennas

Glenn D. Boreman

Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
2017 SPIE President

Glenn D. Boreman is Professor and Chair of the Department of Physics and Optical Science and the Director for the Center for Optoelectronics & Optical Communications at UNC Charlotte. He served 27 years on the faculty at University of Central Florida, most recently as the Trustee Chair Professor of Optics. He has graduated 23 PhD students to date.

Dr. Boreman is a Fellow of SPIE, the Optical Society of America, and the Military Sensing Symposia. In addition, he is a Senior Member of the IEEE. He and two of his students received the 1995 Kingslake Medal from SPIE.


Light effects in some types of normal and cancer cells

Efrain Solarte

Universidad del Valle, Colombia
2017 RIAO President

Efrain Solarte is a Senior Faculty at the Universidad del Valle, Colombia


Chirality and Optical Activity at the Nanoscale

Ana Cecilia Noguez Garrido

Universidad nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico

Dr. Noguez-Garrido is Professor at the Physics Institute of the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico. Her interests are on the theoretical studies of optical and electronic properties of plasmonic nanostructures.

She received the Mexican National Award for Science (Premio Nacional de Ciencias) in 2016.  

Optical nanofibers, a platform for quantum optics

Luis Orozco

Professor of Physics, Fellow of the Joint Quantum Institute,
University of Maryland, USA

Luis A. Orozco's research focuses on the areas of quantum optics and laser spectroscopy. Specifically his papers center on 2 broad areas - trapping atoms in a cavity and testing the predictions of quantum electrodynamics (the theory describing the interaction of light and matter) and studying the spectrum of francium (the most massive of the simple gases).

His work therefore requires studying and characterizing both the quantum and statistical nature of light.

Dr Orozco is Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, and the Institute of Physics in 2005. And he has been a Distinguished Traveling Lecturer for the Division of Laser Science of the American Physical Society. He holds a Honoris Causa Doctorate from INAOE in 2016.


Wearable and Bedside Biophotonics: technologies at the intersection between personalized medicine and personal health

Bruce J. Tromberg

Beckman Laser Institute, University of California, USA

Dr. Tromberg is the Director of the Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic (BLI) at the University of California, Irvine (UCI) and principal investigator of the Laser Microbeam and Medical Program (LAMMP).

His research spans the interdisciplinary fields of Biophotonics and Biomedical Optics with particular emphasis on the development of new technologies for medical imaging and therapy.

His work includes more than 300 publications and 17 patents in Biophotonics technologies and their application to problems in cancer, vascular disease, neuroscience, and critical care.

He has received several awards for his work, including the Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award, Dr. Tromberg is a Fellow of the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), the Optical Society of America (OSA), and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineers (AIMBE). .


Parity-Time Symmetry in Optics and Photonics

Demetrios Christodoulides

Pegasus Professor of Optics & Photonics/Cobb Family Endowed Chair, University of Central Florida, USA

Demetri Christodoulides is the Cobb Family Endowed Chair and Pegasus Professor of Optics at CREOL-the College of Optics and Photonics of the University of Central Florida.

His research interests include linear and nonlinear optical beam interactions, synthetic optical materials, optical solitons, and quantum electronics.

He has authored and co-authored more than 250 papers. He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America and the American Physical Society. In 2011 he received the R.W. Wood Prize of OSA.

Glass-Ceramic Materials for Photonic Applications

Giancarlo C. Righini

Giancarlo C. Righini is Associate Scientist at the Enrico Fermi Center & Nello Carrara of Applied Physics. His research interest are in the Characterization of Erbium/Ytterbium-doped glasses for integrated optical lasers and amplifiers , Spherical microresonators based on the propagation of Whispering Gallery Modes for microlasers and microsensors, Fabrication of periodic structures and gratings in optical fibers and waveguide among others.

Giancarlo C. Righini is Fellow of the OSA(Optical Society of America), SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering), EOS (European Optical Society) and Emeritus member of SIOF (Società Italiana di Ottica e Fotonica).


Nanophotonics: Harnessing Light with Structured Materials

Joseph W. Haus

University of Dayton , USA

Joseph W. Haus was director of the Electro-Optics program at the University of Dayton. His research interest include fiber optics, quantum and nonlinear optics and nanophotonics.

Prof. Haus is Fellow of the OSA(Optical Society of America), SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering), APS (American Physical Society). He holds a Honoris Causa Doctorate from INAOE in 2014.

Mexico Territorial Commitee for Optics
The Optical Society American